Neighborhood Council #1 Meeting Minutes January 10, 2012

MEMBERS PRESENT

Bill Thomas, Jesse O'Hara, Lynda Sowell, Jay Russell

OTHERS PRESENT

Alex Abbott, Lane Beyl, Destin Wassmann, Matt Hronek, Tyson Patterson, Bill Taylor, Sue Taylor, and Patty Cadwell

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 pm by Lynda Sowell, filling in for Chairman Fred Rauch

COMMITTEE REPORTS

There were no committee reports

OLD BUSINESS

• Motion to approve the minutes of the December 13, 2011 meeting by Bill Thomas and second by Jesse O'Hara; approved as written.

NEW BUSINESS

- Election of officers:
- Motion to elect Jay Russell secretary made by Jesse O'Hara, second by Lynda Sowell; approved unanimously
- Motion to elect Fred Rauch Chairman made by Jesse O'Hara, second by Bill Thomas; approved unanimously
- Motion to elect Lynda Sowell Official Delegate made by Jay Russell, second by Jesse O'Hara; approved unanimously
- Motion to approve the bylaws by Bill Thomas, second by Jesse O'Hara; approved unanimously
- Next Council of Councils meeting is January 25, 2012.
- Patty Cadwell stated that a community policing officer will attend our February meeting
- A reporter from News Channel 5 brought to the Council's attention an outdated document from the Country Club Homeowners Association (dated in 1949) containing a discriminatory clause limiting home ownership based on race.

Apparently the Meadowlark Homeowners Association has been defunct and has not met for years. However, the document is often included as part of the title report when homes in the area are bought and sold. Council members were disturbed to see that this still existed and discussed ways to change or eliminate the document. The Council requested Patty Cadwell refer the document to City Attorney Jim Santoro for his opinion on how to delete this paragraph from the document if possible, and who would have

the authority to do this. This will be an agenda item for the next meeting.

ADJOURN

Motion to adjourn meeting at 7:22 pm by Jesse O'Hara, second by Jay Russell; approved unanimously. Next meeting: February 14, 2012.

Respectfully submitted, Jay Russell, Neighborhood Council District 1 Secretary