

Item:	Appointments, Regional Airport Authority Board	
From:	City Manager's Office	
Initiated By:	City Commission	
Presented By:	City Commission	
Action Requested:	Appoint two members to the Regional Airport Authority Board	

## Suggested Motion:

1. Commissioner moves:

"I move that the City Commission appoint \_\_\_\_\_\_ and \_\_\_\_\_ to threeyear terms beginning February 7, 2012, through December 31, 2014, to the Regional Airport Authority Board."

2. Mayor calls for a second, discussion, inquiries from the public, and calls the vote.

**Staff Recommendation:** It is recommended that the City Commission appoint two new members to the Regional Airport Authority Board for three-year terms through December 31, 2014.

**Background:** Jeff Mangan and Raymond Wahlert were appointed to the Regional Airport Authority Board in February of 2006. They were both reappointed in January of 2009. Both Mr. Mangan and Mr. Wahlert are not eligible for reappointment. Therefore, it is necessary to appoint two new members to the Board.

## Purpose

The Regional Airport Authority consists of seven members, four appointed by the City Commission and three appointed by the Cascade County Commission. The Authority serves as the governing and policy setting body for the operation and management of the Great Falls International Airport. Its duties include employing the Airport Director, who hires staff and oversees the day-to-day operations of the Great Falls International Airport.

## Evaluation and Selection Process

Advertising for the openings was done through the local media and on the City of Great Falls website. A total of sixteen applications were received. Per the adopted Airport Authority Appointment Procedure, the Airport Authority was given the opportunity to review the

applications and submit recommendations to the City Commission. The Airport Authority submitted a letter dated January 6, 2012. The City Commission interviewed six candidates on January 19, 2012.

Continuing members of this board are:

James Morin Owen Robinson Joe Tropila (County) J.C. Kantorowicz (County) Susan Humble (County)

Citizens interested in serving on this board are:

Vincent Bakke	Quentin Kubas
Ted Barnes	Troy Lindquist
Ward Batson	Larry Lindseth
Bill Beecher	William Liston
Charlie Bruckner	Gary Shick
Dana Hennen	Richard Swensen
Henry Jones	Brad Talcott
Joseph Lawson	Patrick Winder
Joseph Lawson	Patrick Winder

Fiscal Impact: Members serve without compensation.

Alternatives: Advertise to seek other citizen interest.

Attachments/Exhibits:	Letter from Airport Authority dated January 6, 2012	
	Applications	
	(Not available online. On file in City Clerk's office)	